Best for
Best roof rack brands in Australia (2026)
Short answer
Judge roof rack brands in Australia on five things: whether the rating holds off-road, where the rack is made, vehicle coverage, warranty and the accessory range; Wedgetail keeps 100% of its rating off-road and is made in Bayswater, Victoria. Other brands answer these points differently, so the table below quotes what each one says on its own website, in alphabetical order and without a ranking. The Wedgetail picks show current ratings, warranties and prices from Wedgetail product data.
Specs from Wedgetail product data, updated .
- What to compare
- Off-road rating, where made, vehicle fit, warranty, accessories
- Wedgetail off-road
- 100% of the rating, no derating
- Wedgetail made in
- Bayswater, Victoria
- Other brands
- Quoted from their own websites, read 14 October 2026
The shortlist
| Pick | Why | Rating (dynamic) | RRP inc GST | Vehicles |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wedgetail Adventure | Aluminium touring platform, the longest Wedgetail warranty | 100 or 150 kg on most fitments, 100% off-road | $1,525 to $5,905 | 58 models |
| Wedgetail Trade | Aluminium trade platform for ladders, conduit and pipe | 100 or 150 kg, 100% off-road | $1,795 to $2,570 | 23 models |
| Oval Steel | Zinc electroplated steel rack, roof or canopy | 100 or 150 kg on most fitments, 100% off-road | $1,590 to $2,675 | 51 models |
| Commercial Max | Galvanised steel open end rack for work vans | 100 or 150 kg on most fitments, 100% off-road | $1,155 to $5,200 | 78 models |
Touring 4WD and uteWedgetail Adventure
Powder coated aluminium with glass reinforced nylon, made in Bayswater VIC. The base for a rooftop tent, awning and recovery gear, rated 100% off-road to its full rating, on the roof, a listed canopy or over the tub.
- Rating
- 100 or 150 kg dynamic (350 or 525 kg static) on most fitments, 100% off-road
- Warranty
- 10 years
- RRP inc GST
- $1,525 to $5,905
- Vehicles
- 58 models, 138 solutions
Vans and tradeWedgetail Trade
The trade range, listed mostly for vans and a few dual cab utes, with a ladder lock kit and conduit carriers. Same rule: 100% off-road to its full rating.
- Rating
- 100 or 150 kg dynamic (350 or 525 kg static), 100% off-road
- Warranty
- 5 years
- RRP inc GST
- $1,795 to $2,570
- Vehicles
- 23 models, 60 solutions
Steel for 4WD and uteOval Steel
A Wedgetail sub brand in zinc electroplated steel, powder coated, listed mostly for 4WDs and utes, on the roof and for some canopies. It takes a removable boat roller pair.
- Rating
- 100 or 150 kg dynamic (350 or 525 kg static) on most fitments, 100% off-road
- Warranty
- 5 years (3 years on 6)
- RRP inc GST
- $1,590 to $2,675
- Vehicles
- 51 models, 143 solutions
Steel for work vansCommercial Max
A Wedgetail sub brand in galvanised steel, powder coated, listed mostly for work vans and also for some utes and service bodies. It takes a removable boat roller pair.
- Rating
- 100 or 150 kg dynamic (350 or 525 kg static) on most fitments, 100% off-road
- Warranty
- 1 year (5 years on 1)
- RRP inc GST
- $1,155 to $5,200
- Vehicles
- 78 models, 211 solutions
The five things to compare
- Does the rating hold off-road? Some brands quote a lower or separate off-road figure, or leave it to the fitting instructions. Every Wedgetail is rated 100% off-road to its full dynamic rating, and static is 3.5 x dynamic. See static vs dynamic ratings.
- Where is it made? Look for the country of origin on the product page, not the brand's home country. Wedgetail racks are made in Bayswater, Victoria: the main frame is welded, the other parts bolt or click together, and they ship flat pack. See Australian-made roof racks.
- Is it made for your vehicle? Check the exact vehicle, cab and roof type. Wedgetail lists every fitment by vehicle on Find My Vehicle.
- What is the warranty on this product? Warranties often differ by product line within one brand, so compare the term for the rack you would buy. Wedgetail's warranty runs by range and is longest on Adventure; the picks above show each one.
- Will your accessories fit? Third-party accessories fit a Wedgetail platform; the lip around the edge is there for strength, so some need a 10 mm spacer to clear it, and with that they fit. See accessory compatibility.
What each brand says on its own website
| Brand | Where made, as the brand states it | Warranty, as stated | Load and off-road, as stated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARB | Not stated on the BASE Rack 1255 x 1285 mm product page | 3 years (BASE Rack) | 125 kg payload; on-road or off-road not stated | arb.com.au |
| Front Runner (Dometic) | South Africa: Dometic says the Slimline II tray is manufactured in South Africa | 5 years (Front Runner series racks) | 50 kg limit on factory rail kits, which are not suited to extreme off-road conditions | dometic.com (AU), dometic.com (ZA) |
| KRS | Designed and manufactured in Adelaide | Not stated on the roof rack systems page | Not stated on the roof rack systems page | krsaustralia.com.au |
| Rhino-Rack | China for the Pioneer 6 platform (part 62100); many cross bar products eligible for the Australian Made logo (2021 article) | 5 years on Pioneer platforms; lifetime on Vortex, Heavy Duty and other cross bar systems | Off-road figure from the vehicle manual, or worked out with the formula in the fitting instructions | Pioneer 6 page, warranty, Australian Made article, load ratings |
| Rola | Its Melbourne-based production facility builds its tailor-made roof racks to specific vehicle models | 5 years (Titan Tray MKIII) | 400 kg tray rating, vehicle specific; off-road capacity may be less than on-road | about Rola, Titan Tray page |
| Thule | Poland for the Caprock M platform (country of origin) | Not stated on the Caprock product page | Load capacity up to 150 kg; no separate off-road figure | thule.com |
| Tier One Metalworks | 100% Australian-made stainless steel racks | Not stated on the home page | Not stated on the home page | tieronemetalworks.com.au |
| Tracklander | Made in Australia | 5 year unlimited kilometre guarantee | Up to 200 kg off-road, varies by vehicle | tracklander.com.au |
Each entry quotes the brand's own page for the product named, as read on 14 October 2026. Brands change products and terms, so check the current page for the exact rack you are pricing.
The Wedgetail ranges
- Wedgetail Adventure: touring platforms for 4WDs and utes.
- Wedgetail Core: the same rating rules at a lower price, listed for fewer vehicles.
- Wedgetail Trade: trade platforms, mostly for vans.
- Sub brands: Commercial Max and Oval Steel steel racks, Trade Max crossbars and the Technician ladder rack.
Wedgetail is a brand created by Tradesman Roof Racks Pty Ltd. Every Wedgetail stockist sells and fits; see where to buy or the Wedgetail facts.
Questions people ask
What are the main roof rack brands in Australia?
Brands sold in Australia include ARB, Front Runner, KRS, Rhino-Rack, Rola, Thule, Tier One Metalworks, Tracklander, Wedgetail and Yakima, among others. This page quotes each brand's own claims rather than ranking them.
Which roof rack brands are made in Australia?
Wedgetail (Bayswater, Victoria), KRS (Adelaide), Tier One Metalworks and Tracklander say on their own websites that their racks are made in Australia, and Rola says its tailor-made racks are built in a Melbourne facility.
Is Rhino-Rack Australian made?
Partly. Rhino-Rack says many of its cross bar products are eligible for the Australian Made logo, and its product page for the Pioneer 6 platform (part 62100) lists China as the country of origin.
Which brands keep their rating off-road?
Wedgetail rates every rack 100% off-road to its full rating. Tracklander says its racks are rated up to 200 kg off-road, varying by vehicle. For any other brand, check the off-road figure for your exact kit.
Are Front Runner racks made in Australia?
No. Dometic, which sells Front Runner, says the Slimline II tray is manufactured in South Africa.
Which brand fits my vehicle?
It depends on the exact vehicle, cab and roof. Wedgetail lists every fitment by vehicle on Find My Vehicle, and every Wedgetail stockist sells and fits.
